Pingyao Festival Palace

Pingyao Festival Palace is located in the northwest corner of Pingyao Ancient City that used to be an old diesel engine plant. Covering an area of 11,000 square meters, it has one open-air theatre and five cinema auditoriums that can accommodate a total number of 2,200 seats. All cinemas are equipped with internationally standard digital video projector that supports films in 3D and 4K. Among them, the open-air theatre, with 1,500 seats, is named after Jia Zhang-ke’s film PLATFORM. And the 500-seat multi-purpose auditorium is named after the famous Chinese director Fei Mu’s master piece “SPRING In A SMALL TOWN” in honor of his artistic achievement in the history of Chinese cinema. Pingyao Festival Palace also offers a wide range of commercial services and supporting facilities, including bars and restaurants, forum, exhibition spaces, VIP rooms, press center, accreditation center and etc.

As the main venue for the Pingyao International Film Festival, Pingyao Festival Palace is also open to the public throughout the year with current movie releases. In addition, it presents a series of carefully curated programs on a regular basis, including “Pingyao Special Presentations” for special film screenings, “Pingyao Voice” for academic talks and forum, and “Pingyao Scope” for contemporary exhibitions. It aims to create an iconic public space for rich artistic and multicultural experiences.

Pingyao Festival Palace address: No. 153 Xi Da Jie (West St), Pingyao Xian, Jinzhong, Shanxi, China, 031100

1. Information & Service

-Tickets & PYIFF-related information service

-Address: West Street, Pingyao Ancient City (right outside the Pingyao Festival Palace)

2.  Outdoor Market/Atrium Market

Themed outdoor market in line with the Festival’s theme “Boutique Festival for the People”

Address: Atrium/Outdoor area of the Pingyao Festival Palace (West to the entrance)

3. Pingyao Corner

Space for “School Day” activities.


- Venue for welcome dinner, Pingyao night and other banquet for the Festival

5. Tickets & Accreditations

- For guests and media to collect passes; ticket exchange and information service

6Festival Administration

Festival administrative offices.


- VIP lounge for the Festival, including three independent rest spaces.

- The Lounge is named after The Show Must Go On (Jianghuernv in Chinese), the last production undertaken by China’s greatest director Fei Mu, in honor of him. The film was eventually completed by Zhi Shilin in 1952, produced by Hong Kong Dragon-Horse. In 2018, Jia Zhang-ke’s lastest crime romance film Ash is Purest White also adopted the same title in Chinese.

8. Foyer

- Movie poster exhibition.

- Venue for live-streaming feed, promotional events and filmmaker parties at night.

9 Forum

- Venue for academic activities including the master classes and forums.

- Retrospective exhibition on Soviet New Wave Cinema outside.


A 500-seat cinema auditorium

It is named after Spring in A Small Town, one of the classics directed by China’s greatest director Fei Mu, in honor of him. The film was once selected as one of the ten classics in the 90-year history of Chinese film. The Hong Kong Film Awards Association also named it the greatest Chinese film ever made.

11. Atrium

The Atrium is composed of Screening Hall 1-4, ticket booth, bookstore, gift shop, market, café, snacks and drinks counter, bar and Yuanxin Noodle. The screening halls, transformed from old diesel engine factory plants, can accommodate 114, 98, 72 and 72 audiences respectively and support 3D and 4K films. There are areas on both the first and second floor especially designed for dinning and resting.


An open-air cinema in the 2700-year old ancient city that can accommodate 1,500 audiences

It is named after Jia Zhang-ke’s film Platform that was partly filmed in Pingyao back in 2000. The design concept is to combine the traditional Chinese theater with Western theater. The “Pingyao Moon” and the “Gazebo” will bring a unique experience to audiences who come for screenings. The screenings are of high quality with professional subtitles and perfect sound. It will run for eight night non-stop during the Festival.

13. Press Center

It accommodates venue for press conference and photo-call, working space for domestic and international media as well as offices for the Festival’s media support team.

14. Staff Lounge

The dinning and rest space for all staff, security and volunteers.

History of Pingyao Festival Palace

●  1920

In the 9th year of the Republic of China, SUN Xi-fa, who was from Jiao He Town, Bo Tou City, Hebei Province, along with LIU Yu-zhou, LIU Yu-zhang, SONG Shu-yuan, established the “Juxing Iron Factory” on West Street in Pingyao Ancient City.

●  1948

In July of the 37th year of the Republic of China, Pingyao was liberated. With the support of the government, “Juxing Iron Factory” was renamed “Yuji Iron Factory” in 1949.

●  1970

In early 1970s, “Yuji Iron Factory” was renamed “Jinzhong Diesel Engine Factory”.

●  1994

In June 1994, “Jinzhong Diesel Engine Factory” was closed, and Jinzhong Machinery Manufacturing Co., Ltd. was established with the approval of the Jinzhong Prefectural Administrative Office. Due to restrictions from traffic and cultural relic conservations, the operation of the company began to face difficulties.

●  2001

The first Pingyao International Photography Festival opened on site of the old diesel engine factory, and the site became the main exhibition center for the annual photography festival.

●  2016

On September 9th, filmmaker JIA Zhang-ke and his team signed with the government of Jinzhong City and Pingyao County a Cooperation Framework Agreement on Pingyao International Film Festival. Both parties reached an agreement to build a festival palace and an industrial zone on the site of the old diesel engine factory, as the main venue of the annual film festival.

●  2017

In October, the renovation and new construction project for the festival palace was completed, and the old site of diesel engine factory was officially named “Pingyao Festival Palace”. The new site is designed by the Architectural Design and Research Institute of Tsinghua University, with the goal of preserving the original industrial style and historical characteristics in mind.

   On October 28th to November 4th, the inaugural edition of Pingyao Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon International Film Festival was successfully taken place. Filmmakers and audiences from around the world gathered in the Pingyao Festival Palace, celebrating the achievements of international cinema while enjoying the unique artistic experience provided.

●  2018

Pingyao Festival Palace opened to the public before Chinese New Year. Apart from screening newly released theatrical movies, it regularly organizes curated programs, including “Pingyao Special Presentations” for special film screenings, “Pingyao Voice” for academic talks and forum, and “Pingyao Scope” for contemporary exhibitions. It aims to create an iconic public space for rich artistic and multicultural experiences.