-

Pingyao Ancient City in Jinzhong, Shanxi Province is located between Beijing and Xi’an. Established during 827 B.C. to 782 B.C, it is one of the best-preserved ancient cities in China. In 1997, this 3000-year-old city was included as a World Heritage Site by United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

Pingyao is the most popular travel destination in China. In 2016 alone, over 10 million tourists visited Pingyao. It has more than 300 sights, among which Rishengchang Financial House is well-known as “China’s first draft bank”. And Shuanglin Temple is notable for its collection of thousands of decorated clay statues. The Hall of a Thousand Buddhas within the temple is considered one of the earliest and finest masterpieces of wooden architectural and sculptural art.

At 12m high and more than 6km circumference, the city walls separate Pingyao from the rest of the world. It has kept its beguiling narrative largely intact since the Ming Dynasty, marking Pingyao Ancient City as China’s best-preserved ancient walled town.

Pingyao is one of the cradles for China's merchant culture. In the hundred-year period starting from the 19th century, rather than Beijing or Shanghai, Pingyao was the financial center for the whole China. Being a thriving merchant town, Pingyao's ascendancy came during the late Qing when more than 20 banks were set up here, accounting for half of the banks across China. Pingyao truly deserved the title "The Wall Street of Ancient China".

-

Accommodation

- The newly established five-star hotel can accommodate as many as 914 guests.
There are 988 hotels in total in Pingyao with 15,808 rooms and 31,616 beds, 564 guesthouses and 19 motels. Accommodation options across Pingyao will be able to satisfy all over-night requirements.

-

山西晋中· 平遥古城,位于山西省中部,始建于公元前827年——公元前782年,是中国境内保存最为完整的古代县城。1997年,拥有近3000年历史的平遥古城被联合国教科文组织列入世界文化遗产名录。

山西晋中·平遥是中国最重要的旅游目的地。在过去的2016年,有超过1000万人次的游客来到平遥旅游。平遥有300多处古迹,其中日升昌票号被誉为“中国现代银行的鼻祖”,双林寺被誉为“东方彩塑艺术宝库”,镇国寺万佛大殿是中国现存最早、最珍贵的木构建筑之一。

平遥城墙总周长6163米,墙高约12米,把面积约2.25平方公里的平遥县城一隔为两个风格迥异的世界。自明朝至今,平遥基本保持了原有格局,拥有完整的古代民居群落。

平遥古城是中国晋商文化的发源地之一。从19世纪开始,百余年间,中国金融中心不在北京、不在上海,而在山西省晋中市平遥县。在中国这个古老的帝国,它的财富一直占据着中心地位。清代晚期,总部设在平遥的票号就有二十多家,占全国的一半以上,平遥由此被称“古代中国华尔街”。

-

酒店

-新建的平遥五星级酒店可为国内外来宾提供914个床位。
-平遥酒店总数达到988家,客房数15808间,床位数31616张。其中民俗客栈564家,快捷酒店19家。遍布平遥的民宿、酒店,可满足电影展期间各方人士的住宿需求。